The Seat Next To The King

The Seat Next To The King

Produced by Minmar Gaslight in association with The Theatre Centre

The Theatre Centre, 1115 Queen St. West
September 17–October 1, 2017

Tickets: Preview $17 | Student/Senior/Arts Worker $22 | Regular $29
Service charges may apply
Book 416-538-0988 | PURCHASE ONLINE

September 1964. Behind the doors of a public washroom in a Washington D.C. park, two lives linked to two of America’s most important figures collide when a white man seeking sex meets a black male stranger. Steven Elliott Jackson’s bold and affecting piece—the winner of the 2017 Toronto Fringe Festival New Play award—explores issues of race, sexuality, masculinity—and the cost of reconciling each to two disparate human beings with a shared innate need.
“NNNNN… an extraordinary production.” – NOW Magazine

Written by Steven Elliott Jackson
Directed by Tanisha Taitt
Starring: Kwaku Okyere & Conor Ling
Lighting Designer: Brandon Goncalves
Production Stage Manager: Tara Mohan
Stage Manager: Sonia Vaillant

Performance Dates
Sunday, September 17 – 2:30pm – Preview
Tuesday, September 19 – 8:30pm – Preview
Wednesday, September 20 – 8:30pm – Opening
Thursday, September 21 – 8:30pm
Friday, September 22 – 8:30pm
Saturday, September 23 – 2:30pm
Saturday, September 23 – 8:30pm
Sunday, September 24 – 2:30pm
Tuesday, September 26 – 8:30pm
Wednesday, September 27 – 8:30pm
Thursday, September 28 – 8:30pm
Friday, September 29 – 8:30pm
Saturday, September 30 – 2:30pm
Saturday, September 30 – 8:30pm
Sunday, October 1 – 2:30pm