slider-a-blow-in-the-face

A Blow in the Face

Produced by Bald Ego Theatre in association with Nightwood Theatre

The Theatre Centre, 1115 Queen St. West
March 26–April 14, 2019

Tickets: Preview $20 | Student/Arts worker/Senior/Under 30: $25 | General Admission $35
Service charges may apply
Book 416-538-0988 | PURCHASE ONLINE

Alice’s life is perfect. She has a wonderful husband and a gorgeous new baby. The only thing is: her husband has left on a work trip and the baby is colicky. Alice cannot sleep. Into her chaotic world arrive two fantastical creatures who take an unnatural interest in her child. In a play described as Rosemary’s Baby meets Fight Club, playwright Lisa Ryder explores the taboo subject of postpartum depression and the extreme places the mind can go. A Blow in the Face is a searing and irreverent take on a subject to which every parent will relate.

It’s funny, it’s incisive, it’s smart as hell. It’s also utterly original and thoroughly theatrical.” – Michael Healey, acclaimed Canadian playwright

Credits
Written by Lisa Ryder, based on characters created by Selina Martin & Lisa Ryder
Directed and choreographed by Monica Dottor
Featuring Tess Degenstein, Jordan Pettle, Selina Martin and Lisa Ryder
Set & Costume Design: Monica Dottor
Lighting Design: Oz Weaver
Music: Richard Feren and Selina Martin
Sound Design: Richard Feren
Cloud Construction by Taylor Young
Stage Manager: Troy Taylor
Producers: Kim Blackwell and Lisa Ryder
Production Manager: Suzie Balogh

Performance Dates
Approximate Run Time: 80 minutes
Tuesday, March 26, 2019 – 8:00pm Preview
Wednesday, March 27, 2019 – 8:00pm Preview
Thursday, March 28, 2019 – 8:00pm Opening
Friday, March 29, 2019 – 8:00pm
Saturday, March 30, 2019 – 2:30pm
Saturday, March 30, 2019 – 8:00pm
Sunday, March 31, 2019 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 2, 2019 8:00pm Talkback Tuesday
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 – 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 3, 2019 – 8:00pm
Thursday, April 4, 2019 – 8:00pm
Friday, April 5, 2019 – 8:00pm
Saturday, April 6, 2019 – 2:30pm
Saturday, April 6, 2019 – 8:00pm
Sunday, April 7, 2019 – 2:30pm
Tuesday, April 9, 2019 – 8:00pm Talkback Tuesday
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 – 1:30pm
Wednesday, April 10, 2019 – 8:00pm
Thursday, April 11, 2019 – 8:00pm
Friday, April 12, 2019 – 8:00pm
Saturday, April 13, 2019 – 2:30pm
Saturday, April 13, 2019 – 8:00pm
Sunday, April 14, 2019 – 2:30pm